Thursday, May 12, 2005

Invitation to join a defense of academic freedom

CLIOPATRIA: A Group Blog (History News Network)
Thursday, May 12, 2005 (updated)

RALPH E. LUKER: Petition Condemning the Boycott of Israeli Academics ...

Penn's Jeff Weintraub has created an on-line petition in support of the American Association of University Professors' condemnation of the British Association of University Teachers' boycott of the Israeli universities, Haifa and Bar-Ilan, and blacklisting of their faculty members. Mechal Sobel, one of Cliopatria's Contributing Editors, is a faculty member at Haifa. I have signed the petition and urge others to consider doing so. Robert Abzug, Joyce Appleby, Omer Bartov, Gail Bederman, David Beito, Robert Bellah, Peter Berkowitz, David Bernstein, Michael Berube, Ian Buruma, Oscar Chamberlain, Juan Cole, David Brion Davis, Morris Dickstein, Sherman Dorn, Jonathan Dresner, Ellen Carol DuBois, Cynthia Fuchs Epstein, Henry Farrell, Herbert Gans, Norm Geras, Todd Gitlin, Nathan Glazer, Steven Horwitz, KC Johnson, Tony Judt, Ira Katznelson, Michael Kazin, Margaret L. King, Harvey Klehr, Mark A. R. Kleiman, Jacob T. Levy, Deborah Lipstadt, Charles Maier, Elaine Tyler May, Joanne Meyerowitz, Richard Rorty, Roy Rosenzweig, Vicki Ruiz, Hugo Schwyzer, Christine Stansell, Michael Walzer, Jon Wiener, Leon Wieseltier, and Alan Wolfe are among the prominent academics who have already signed the petition. See also: AAUP, Juan Cole at Informed Comment, Chris Bertram at Crooked Timber, David Velleman at Left2Right, Steve Horwitz at Liberty & Power, Hugo Schwyzer, and Sharon Howard and KC Johnson at Cliopatria.

Posted by Ralph E. Luker on Tuesday, May 10, 2005 at 7:14 AM

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home